IHJZ Top Chef All Stars March 3, 2011

Top Chef All Stars by quincyil

Family Traditions

Quick Fire Challenge

This week five chefs are competing for the opportunity to be in the finale of Top Chef All Stars. Padma visits their house and invites them to the rooftop.  Antonia thinks the Quick Fire Challenge will involve jumping from the roof.  Padma explains that the challenge will be cooking from the snack bar of a ferry while traveling to Ellis Island. Ellis Island is an historical site where immigrants entered America. The snack bar had hot dogs, cheese, chips, packed foods, oranges, popcorn, and candy.  There were no cooking instruments.

Tiffany created a dish of nachos with materials found on the boat. She later made popcorn and added dried fruit.  Antonia used raisin bread and make grilled cheese in the hot dog grill which added the flavor of hot dogs to her creation.  Richard who is known for making dishes with 14 ingredients used 14 ingredients on top of hot dogs.  Mike made a cheese soup with bread pieces and pork rinds in it.  He was concerned about the bread getting soggy.  Carla made an orange salad with papaya and carrot juice infused.

Padma and a guest judge, Dan Berber (known for using local and sustainable foods,) tasted all of the dishes. Carla was the winner of the Quick Fire Challenge.

Competition Theme

At Ellis Island, the contestants listened to Padma speak about family histories and the role of food in family traditions. The contestants are delighted to see family members approaching them. The Top Chef producers had a genealogist research the family histories of each contestant.   Family members were to discuss the history and help the chefs create a menu for the Competition based on their own ethnicity and family history.

Richard met with his wife who was 5 months pregnant.  His ancestors were from England and Ireland, but he had a strong Midwestern American history as well.  His family has chemists and butchers so he felt a connection with the past.  He would serve “meat and potatoes.”

Tiffany met with her mother.  One of her ancestors has the name,”Tubman.”  Her mom told her that their family tradition of cooking okra with tomatoes, pork roast, and turkey legs had merit. Tom, a judge, was known to dislike okra, but Tiffany would make her dish and hope for the best.

Carla’s family was the last slave family to be freed in Lebanon, Tennessee.  Her great, great grandfather became a printer and she felt a connection to this businessman as she has a catering business of her own.  Carla’s husband was there to discuss her menu items.

Mike is Italian and his mother discussed his history and the memories of his cooking with his beloved grandmother who had passed away.  Mike’s grandmother taught him how to cook.

Antonia discovered that she has a family link to Mike through a family name, Antonachhi  (sp?).  There were distant relatives.  Antonia is ¾ Italian and ¼ Jewish.  Her family owned a restaurant for 10 years when she was a child. 

Later, the group teases Mike about his new family member, Antonia. They show a photo of him in spandex as a child in a dance recital.  Antonia said, “Go Mikey.!”  They all laughed and had fun.  Richard notices that Mike and Antonia look similar and they love to fight and argue.

Preparation for the Challenge

The chefs went to a Whole Food Market to purchase their ingredients. We see them in the aisles with shopping carts and lists.

Prize

The next day the group of chefs crowds into a brand new Toyota hybrid where they watch a DVD.  This car is the prize for winning tonight’s challenge.

Preparation of Food

We are shown the trial and tribulations of the process of cooking:  Carla is unhappy with her oven,  Mike steps on a towel that he has set on fire, Richard is miserable that he has English and Irish ancestors rather than Italian as he is stuck with food from England and Ireland,  Richard does like the words “glass wort,”  and  Antonia is worried about her risotto being mushy.  All of them are busy and seem nervous.

Dinner

The dinner is outside on a water way in an area with flowers and a view of a bridge.  Family members and the 4 judges are seated. The dinner guests and judges enjoy friendly banter.

Mike serves his plates first.  He explains that these dishes come from Naples. There is potato gnocci with braised pork, and pullo (sp?)  All of the family members pay compliments and the judges are impressed.

Antonia serves braised veal with a rapini leaf & flava bens.  It is a meal to warm the stomach of a 1960’s husband.

Tiffany serves short ribs with mustard greens, fried okra, and tiny bit of bone marrow.

Richard serves beef in the form of a steak, potatoes, corn and fried, pickled bone marrow.  Tom said the bone marrow was “a nugget of love.”

Carla met her husband on match.com.  He loves food and finished all of the dishes served that evening.  She served grits, cheddar biscuits and shoulder pork which was moist.

Judges Table

The family members were happy with all of the dishes and supportive of their loved ones.  Antonia’s mom told her that she suggested that five be in the finale.  The group of chefs tasted each other’s food and drink wine as the judges make their decisions.

The contestants stand before the judges and receive compliments on their food.  Richard is under great stress.  Richard’s dish is called, “a story in a dish.” Antonia was complimented on her risotto. Tiffany was complimented on her okra.  Mike’s meat was  “a rich classic dish loaded with flavor.”  Richard thinks he is going home.

The judges give Antonia the  Toyota car for winning the competition. She and Mike are told they are going to the Bahamas. Padma calls on Richard who is told to pack his knives as he is…”going to the Bahamas.”  He says the work, “Safe,” when he meeting Antonia and Mike in the back for the celebration.

Tiffany and Carla stand together while waiting for one of them to be eliminated.  The judges play with them for a while and then send both of them to the Bahamas.  They go to meet their fellow contestants where Mike is glad to see them but wishes there were only four going to the finale.

The following blog was written by @lexistential 

Top Chef

I’ve watched Top Chef since season 1. Every time I sat down for a Wednesday night episode, I came, saw, criticized- and hoped, most of all, that I would be able to meet the talented chefs behind so many beautiful (and occasionally gnarly-looking) plates.

At Season 7, I got my wish: I met the cast of Top Chef DC.

Now, I am not part of the culinary world at all. Sure, I have ties to the restaurant and bar industry, but the most I’m involved with the culinary world is as a Top Chef superfan. Apart from snacking, my favorite thing to do while watching an episode of Top Chef is to hit Twitter to provide and exchange comments with various writers, bloggers, and even occasionally the chefs.

Last season, I started trading tweets with chef Kenny Gilbert. And when Mr. Gilbert came up to New York to celebrate his birthday (as well as hook up with the other chefs to tape the reunion episode), he let me know. He tweeted me an invitation to join him for dinner at Meatpacking district hotspot Buddakan (where recent All-Stars contestant Dale Talde works).

I was stunned. Additionally, I had worked late the night before and gone drinking, so I was also mildly hungover. It took a good hour for it to sink in that half a season’s worth of Tweeting with Kenny had led to being invited to dinner with him and the rest of the Top Chef DC. I had really been invited, so why not go?

The dinner itself was surprising- Kenny threw out more tweets on his feed, but I was the only one to reply and take the opportunity. Nobody other fans from the Internet had shown up. I had assumed I would be eating with other enthusiastic fans of the show, but I turned out to be the only person at the vast, long dinner table without any ties to a chef, restaurant, or cooking origin to speak of. The realization of noticing that I was the only complete stranger in the midst of all these contestants during their reunion made me feel as though I had stumbled into the wrong party in a hotel. Especially since I was seated between first- round-eliminee John Somerville and… Angelo.

Angelo, Angelo, Angelo. Upon noticing him sit next to me, I started drinking the champagne on the table.

After explaining that I’d been invited by Kenny, the chefs relaxed at my presence. I exchanged small talk with Top Chef DC cast members: John Somerville, Kelly Liken (who’s quite gracious), Tamesha Warren, current All-Star Tiffany Derry, as well as Arnold Myint. But, the most exciting part was sitting next to Angelo, for he was Season 7’s resident villain. At dinner, he was a guy on the go and clearly in charge- arranging a tasting menu, coordinating service, talking to his section of the table, and me. He took the opportunity to chat me up, and ultimately became very easy to talk to. I realized he was much, much nicer than the supposed saboteur Bravo had made him out to be, and was hardly intimidating after that. He was likewise receptive to my feedback as a viewer. When I told him that I felt he (and others) had been given misleading editing and that some aspects of Top Chef were too edited for reality drama instead of showcasing the chefs’ talents, he agreed.

When the meal was over, the chefs dispersed off to a club and to spend the rest of their reunion with each other. And, I walked away thinking, “Holy crap, Twitter really does work.”

I ended up writing about the meal for my online magazine, Intrepid Media. But, some eight months later, I’m still amazed by the opportunity. And every time I watch Top Chef All-Stars, I’m blown away by how I got to meet Angelo and Tiffany. Hopefully, I will have another opportunity to meet more of the talented folks on Top Chef. But, even lightning doesn’t strike twice, I will always remember last summer.

About LynnNChicago

Reality TV Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

149 Responses to IHJZ Top Chef All Stars March 3, 2011

  1. quincyil says:

    I appreciated Adgirl’s Top Chef 101 lessons as I never watched the show before. Lynn’s blog and looking at the photographs from bravotv.com also were helpful.

    Sorry, no photographs as I didn’t know how to add them to the blog. We are own our own for a few days.

    Please give your opinions and help with this discussion as I am a virgin when it comes to blogging about this show.

    Q

  2. Kim Grandmatell says:

    Just a quick question…(by the way don’t post often but LOVE this board, thanks so much Lynn and everyone!) how do we know Camille is leaving RHOBH? I keep hearing it mentioned on here, but nothing comes up on google, etc…thanks!

    • quincyil says:

      I have read many articles and I don’t know. You hear that she is not coming back and then you hear that she is coming back. I think they lawyers are in negotiations and it all boils down to money. If Camille feels that she can trust her co stars, I think she would come back. There was a dinner recently at Lisa’s with Camille and some of the other women.

      I think…Camille doesn’t know what he decision will be…..

  3. WindyCityWondering says:

    Way to step up Quincy – good job!
    We sit watching and knowing someone will be packing their knives to go home – that is how the show works! We are invested, anxious and worried that our favorite will be eliminated. Last night, I was pissed and relieved at the same time! Was last night’s pass to all because their families were present or because the dishes were so diversified that comparing them was too difficult? Will the next show eliminate two contestants?

    • quincyil says:

      You have to hand it to Richard because English and Irish feasts are not at the top of the list for many fine restaurants.

      Does any one know what “pullo” is? I know “pollo” is rice, but I listened over and over and thought they said “pullo.” I thought it might be a kind of pasta.

      • quincyil says:

        I thought they were going to the Bahmas as the finale, but I guess they have to eliminate more people. Sorry, if I made that error. It sounded like a competition of the final four. Do they go all the way down to two?

        • It looks like they are going to
          The Atlantis on Paradise Island, I
          recognized many locations where
          they were shooting. its my favorite
          Island getaway and we go quite
          often, so it will be fun watching
          them work somewhere that I
          am so familiar with. 🙂

          Great blog, as usual, Miss Quincy

  4. LynnNChicago says:

    Great Job Quincy! Thanks for taking care of the blog while I’m away.

    Time to announce where I am and why. I’m in New York City and will be attending Cat Ommanney’s Book Launch party tonight with Andy Cohen, some of the NY Housewives will be there…and I just learned that the OC Housewives are all in NYC so I’m hoping some of them will be there too.

    I am very excited and thankful to Cat for inviting me, she invited me after I interviewed her and have been keeping the secret for weeks…..I’m bursting! lol

    I promise to take lots of pictures and share them with you all!

    Thanks again Quincy, you make it so easy for me to leave when I need to, I’ll keep in touch! xo

    • quincyil says:

      Congratulations to Lynn! As her friend and fan of her blog, I am so happy that she has this opportunity. It seems that the OC ladies are in NYC. Maybe, they will go to the events also. Bravo Andy will probably be there.

      Hopefully, we all will get to enjoy the excitement with updates from Lynn.

      When something wonderful happens to a friend, it just makes me incredibly happy.

      It’s a big day for our blog, fellow board members. rotfl…

      Q

      • 2Stupid says:

        Wow Lynn, that is awesome. What better time than to speak to Andy directly about bloggers getting some respect from Bravo. Is your bestie Jill Zarin going to be attending? I would love to see her face when she really there is a traitor amongst the group. Remember Lynn it is not very hard to be classier than the oh so classless Jill Zarin. Use standard journalism protocol. Will you be meeting up with WSL as well? Please tell her that we are missing her on the blog! Congrats again-

        • Kansas Girl says:

          Yes, my thoughts exactly! Ideal time to speak with Andy. And tell WSL how much we miss her.

        • Nancy says:

          If you are so “lucky” to run into Jill please ask her if she is wearing her “Squeeze”. If she says “No” tell her it was a MISTAKE!

      • WindyCityWondering says:

        Lynn – you deserve this and we know you will enjoy it as well! Maybe you can invite one of them to guest blog here….line up more interviews. So have a blast!

      • Cusi77 says:

        Congratulations Lynn! Yay! These are great news! Enjoy NY! So happy good things are happening in your life! If you get to meet with Jill… I will tell you what my mother used to say:
        You behave as a lady and let the others behave as the can!lol. Ha! I know you are a great lady and you don’t need my mom’s advice.lol.

      • twoile says:

        Me 2..gr8 time 4 all I expect some interviews 2…..how wonderful, terrific, stupendous etc ENJOY Lynn & Tx 4 the blog “Q”.:0)

    • BaaBee Loves Kitties says:

      Congratulations Lynn~
      This is just what you needed & deserved. Very excited for you & a bit jelly as Kyle would say. Have a grand time. You worked very hard for this.

      • vilzvet says:

        Wow!!! I am bursting to know if Jill is going to be attending, and what will happen if and when you meet. If you get to exchange some words with Andy that will be monumental. Go girl!

    • OneMoreInBoston says:

      Congratulations Lynn!

      Knock ’em dead- and show them what Hobby bloggers are made of!

    • vilzvet says:

      Let’s all pray that Kelly will be there! I think getting to meet Kelly would be a great moment for Lynn to write about. I now regret that when I was standing behind her at that horse show I did not say hello, LOL. Watching these St. John’s episodes rerunning yesterday really shines a light on her wackiness and utter brainlessness.

      • HD says:

        BAM! Now that’s what I’m talking about! You go, Lynn!!! Seize the moment that has been provided for you!

    • ramonacoaster says:

      Have fun, Lynn!

    • Kansas Girl says:

      Oh my! How fun! Have a great time! I look forward to the report! This is WAY COOL!

      • Sha2000 says:

        Wow, wow, wow Lynn! I am sure you will have a super time. Ditto to what Vilzvet wondered…lol! I for one want to see lots of pictures including one of JZ giving you a big hug, for keeping her name out there lol! I have to admit that I’m more excited that you will meet Andy than anyone…I admit I’m a big Andy fan !

    • Noreen says:

      This is so exciting. I can’t wait to read your blog about it. Have a great time!

    • Shannon says:

      Can’t wait to read about your night. 🙂 Have fun!!!

    • ms molly says:

      Congratulations Lynn. Do yo thang gurl and do it good!!!!!

    • Rabble Rouser says:

      Good for you Lynn, I thought I saw something about this on a retweet on twitter, so glad that it’s true.

      I’m really excited for you, I have so many questions like

      ‘Are you nervous about meeting Andy now that the gauntlet is thrown down?’. ‘What if Jill Zarin shows up? ‘
      ‘Are you going to be careful if you are near Slade? If you get to close, you might slip and fall in the trail of grease and slime he leaves. ‘
      ‘What hotel are you staying at? Is DH with you?’
      “Are you going to try to meet our local posters while you are there?’

      But I am sure you will share it all your upcoming blogs in due time.

      But again, I am SO happy and excited for you. You deserve it.

  5. Adgirl says:

    OMG wasn’t Top Chef great last night? The best epi in many seasons. Fantastic use of a location. We really learned alot about the cheftestants.
    I near cried at the end LOL. Even the chef’s I like the least I was rooting for to stay in the competition. Wasn’t Mike cute about possibly being related to Antonia?

    Thanks for the wonderful recap Quincy. Maybe you’ll be a fan now? You can get the past seasons on Netflix. No commercials!
    I have to add that my husband and I noticed that Richard didn’t talk about his wife this season (unlike before) so we speculated he was no longer married (his weight loss made us wonder). It was really nice to see that he is very married and happy.

    And how about @lexistential getting to meet and eat with TC contestent?s! Wow that’s exciting. @lexistential’s column here was a treat.

    Lynn, I can’t believe you are going to Cat’s party. That sounds like a blast. I’m looking forward to your blog about it.

    • MSU Chicago says:

      Couldn’t have said it better myself. Ditto on everything you posted.

      I thought I was going cuckoo for getting a bit emotional, during the episode. It is nice to know I wasn’t the only one.

      I am excited to see pictures from the launch party.

  6. LavaLady (formerly known as American Idiot) says:

    What a wonderful opportunity for you Lynn. I am so happy for you; you deserve this after all your hard work on this blog. Can’t wait to read your thought and see the pictures. Have a fantastic time. I will be thinking of you tonight.

  7. quincyil says:

    Follow Lynn’s tweets at the bottom of the page…. There is a photo of NYC. It looks like she is going to share some of her photos through twitter.

    This technology is incredible!

    • quincyil says:

      Here: from her tweets… you can follow them here too if you don’t have twitter..

      http://twitpic.com/45p9s9

      They are at the bottom of the comment section on the left.

      New York City looks cold to me. LOL.

      • LavaLady (formerly known as American Idiot) says:

        It is cold in NYC today. Just around 32 degrees.

      • LynnNChicago says:

        Not even that cold.. the sun is shining, its beautiful! I’m used to cold weather 🙂 It really is nice, today even nicer than yesterday. Hope you call all see the pic, tried to post it IN the blog but just working with a slow notepad puter..

        Love this weather.

        • Kansas Girl says:

          Oh, Lynn, that pic tells me a lot. I’ve been thinking about the roses. Please let the “innkeeper” know.

          • 2Stupid says:

            I get that reference and all I can say is I knew I was right! Unfortuantely, sometimes to me that is the most important thing!

            • OneMoreInBoston says:

              LOL- Nice way to put it! yes let the innkeeper know we love her…

              • Kansas Girl says:

                LOL at you both. Bing maps (my not-so-secret addiction) confirmed my suspicion. 2S, I agree about being right!

      • California35 says:

        Nice!! thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. Mimisfbay says:

    Lynn, you are going to the launch party for Cat’s book you must be beside yourself! Big congratulations and like everyone else I wish you the very best. Can’t wait for the blog.

    I loved last night’s episode and sat here crying at the end. My friend and I talk east coast to west coast during the commercials and we both just loved it. I was thrilled that all 5 are going to the Bahamas. It sure seemed that they cooked such beautiful food and I loved that they seemed so thriled by family being there. Of course, Antonia and Mike’s reaction to the discovery that they are cousins was just so heartwarming. It was just the best show…maybe ever. This has just been the very best season. Was thrilled to see that Top Chef Master’s is coming back!

    Thanks to @lexustential for sharing that you got to meet the chefs from DC. Great blog and so much fun to know that you not only met them but actually had dinner and listened to them order and talk about food! Ooooooohhhh. Loved it.

  9. VAgirl says:

    Great recap, Quincy. Loved last night’s episode!
    Lynn, I am happy for you and jealous, too! Can’t wait to hear about your adventure.

    • VAgirl says:

      OT, but I read on Reality Tea that BEA 1st episode ratings are down from last year and that she is complaining about the paparrazi in Miami. I love Bethanny and will keep watching the show, but she shouldn’t bite the hand that feeds her. If she wants fortune and fame, that’s part of it. I don’t think she expected that so soon and was surprised by it.

      • quincyil says:

        I bet her complaint is out of concern for Bryn. I think she was willing to do anything to become famous, now she has to protect her baby.

      • 2Stupid says:

        I saw that too, and am curious if it has anything to do with her not really promoting the show that much. She hasn’t really been doing the talk show circuit. You know she could have gone on Wendy Williams, maybe Regis and Kelly, and WWHL. I think she has dropped the ball promotion wise. Twitter is not promoting a show…..

        • She was on the Rachael Ray Show and she was on the Wendy Williams show about three weeks ago. Other than that, I haven’t seen her promote the show that much. She probably has too many things going on at the same time. I was surprised to hear on Twitter that some of her diehard fans didn’t even know that her show was coming on 2/28. Bravo did a lot of promotion on their network but some people haven’t been watching Bravo lately.

      • I’m not surprised that the ratings were down from the premiere of BGM last season. The first episode of BGM had some help because it came on after part 3 of the RHONY reunion. That was a really good lead in for BGM. I think the BGM ratings may have exceeded expectations. Except for Top Chef and The Real Housewives franchises, most of Bravo’s “hit shows” usually average about 1 million viewers. If BEA’s ratings remain steady, it will be still be considered a hit by Bravo’s standards.

        • HD says:

          B also had help because of the fight. We all wanted to see what her life would be like after, would Jill be on her show. etc.

          As with anything in life, the newness wears off and levels out.

      • Noreen says:

        I just read what B said and it was all about Bryn and protecting her. I think the Mama Bear came out to protect her cub. Good for her.

  10. California35 says:

    Lynn, I am so happy for you. How EXCITING!!!

    I can wait to read about your experience.

    Enjoy yourself 🙂

  11. VincenzoNewYork says:

    Yay Lynn! I am so happy for you!
    Have fun in NYC!
    I would have tried to attend if I knew where it was, but I haven’t heard any information about it. I am not even sure if regular people are allowed to go.
    ttyl everyone
    vinny

  12. Sha2000 says:

    I am so excited! Can’t wait for the details from Lynn!

  13. Rhetorica says:

    GOOD FOR YOU LYNN! Keep us posted. I only began watching Bravo last April after spinal fusion surgery so I’m a newcomer. I’m watching reruns of HOC today and l can’t tell them apart! I’m still on meds and they do make me stoopid, but they all look alike! Is this franchise worth watching? I’ve only seen NY & BH. Tks.

    • Adgirl says:

      If you are interested in watching middle aged women in too tight dresses, starting drunken fights at strip mall restaurants , this show is awesome.

    • WindyCityWondering says:

      Don’t feel bad cause I’ve tried to watch OC since the beginning – can’t tell them apart and can’t finish a season. Maybe meds is the way to go…take care and feel better!

      • Sha2000 says:

        & OC is my favorite group (followed by BH, DC)…each location caters to different tastes.

  14. HWlover says:

    congrads Lynn! Love coming here on a daily basis.

    I had a few cringeworthy moments during Bethenny’s new episode. And when it comes to her approach towards inlaws in regards to weekly visits, I’ll use 1 of Bethenny’s quotes from RHNYC……”Holy inappropriateness!”

    • California35 says:

      lol – yeah that is something should would have said…maybe she is saying that after seeing her first episode…. 🙂

  15. klmh says:

    Congratulations Lynn. Hope it is all you could hope for and more. That was a very nice invitation from Cat. I might just be changing my mind about her…

    • twoile says:

      Me 2, it was very nice/generous of Cat 2 follow through with the invitation…as we know many times “people” say they will but often it doesn’t happen……is this a time 4 you to meet up with WSL?;0)

  16. Nancy says:

    Lynn,
    Do Andy and Jill know what you look like? If yes I wonder if Jill will have the nerve to approach you? She is probably pissed off that Cat’s book is doing so well.
    I’m sure Andy will avoid you at all cost. (Chicken)
    Have a GREAT time. Wish I could be a fly on the wall.

    • HD says:

      I want to know what Lynn is going to wear. Maybe a one shoulder dress a la the Count-less with some Christian Louboutins or maybe Kelly gave her some tips and she can wear some of those feather earrings. Maybe Simon bought another feed store one of a kind corsets (I actually did love that.)

      I want to see her hair, her outfit, her shoes! Everything! Diva time!

      • Adgirl says:

        And her *statement* necklace.

        • Pantry Viewer says:

          I see Jill throwing her nose up in the air, gathering her minions of Kelly and LuAnn, flinging her head in the opposite direction and storming off…like she did when B announced her engagement. That was so ridiculous to watch how she behaved.

          • Kansas Girl says:

            I think that might happen too, but I’m trying to think positive and that Jill will thank Lynn for making her famous. I’m trying!

    • quincyil says:

      I bet Jill knows what Lynn looks like because I think she reads this blog and looks at Lynn’s twitter line.

      I think a lot of famous people stop by here.

  17. Olivia says:

    My only concern with this “up close and personal” and the Housewives events is that it may lead to the prohibition of some criticism of these ladies. It may be difficult to separate the adulation from some of the behavior of these casts.

    Does anyone else share this concern or am I alone in thinking this way? And example is that I am not a big fan of Cat’s and since she has invited Lynn to partake in her book party I may feel restrained for saying so.

    • twoile says:

      My observation “O” is that it may already have tempered some blogging, so I guess I’d have 2 say yep maybe!;0)

      • Olivia says:

        Perhaps Lynn can address this concern.

        Most of us flocked to this site because Bravo would scrub and delete comments for whatever reason they chose. My impression has always been that we were free to offer comments and criticisms strictly from our own point of view.

        But I fear a “line being drawn” if there are friendships taking place with some of these cast members who may take offense.

        It it is troubling since we all have differing points of view about the actions and storylines but if these “stars” are “befriended” it may place a damper on what is being posted.

        Just saying.

      • HD says:

        I would think (and hope) that Lynn could attend any event and be objective in her writing.

        I am sure this has to be difficult when you form a relationship with someone so I can’t really say how this will go down.

        I think no matter what, the blog is open to any and all comments from us and I have never been into groupthink or any of that. So no matter what is written if I disagree or see something differently I speak up and I think that is fine for anyone.

    • klmh says:

      Yes, that was my first thought, but her opinions comes across in her blogs and that’s the way she has always written them. I can agree to disagree with Lynn because to me, her blogs are written with her viewpoint of these people and events, which can and is, at times, different than mine.
      Q, on the other hand, describes the events as they happen and she doesn’t give her opinion in her blogs.
      jmo

      • quincyil says:

        I think Lynn had a good relationship with Sonja who was the first to be interviewed on the radio podcast and it hasn’t affected Lynn’s ability to adress the bankruptycy or the dui.

        The blog belongs to Lynn so I am careful to give my opinions in the comment section with my fellow board members. I think I have been able to do that with no problems.

        • HD says:

          I always wondered, Quincy why you just recapped the shows and left your personal side out of the blog. Thank you for mentioning that.

          • quincyil says:

            I’m just the hired help. Lynn keeps doubling my salary, but anything time zero is zero. I do the blogs for the board members. They can use it as a jumping off place for discussions.

            I think it started in Sept. when I put my reviews of “Thintervension” on the board. After that Lynn did a couple of “Flipping Out” and the board showed interest, but Lynn did not want to do all of that work. I can’t remember if I volunteered on the board or how that came about any more. LOL.

            Anyway… I was happily guest blogging by taking notes and when Lynn had to leave at Christmas, I got a promotion so that the board would not get wonky like it did when she had gone away before. When there are too many posts on word press, people had trouble downloading and the posts would go in the wrong places.

            A while ago, I had a promotion from guest blogger to blogger, but no one noticed. ROTFL..

            The pay was tripled that time. ROTFL

            I also went to Chicago and had a wonderful day with Lynn. We went to lunch and dinner at that fancy restaurant that she blogged about.

            I like having famous friends and Lynn is my only famous friend.

            I also wash her windows and walk her dog.

            • California35 says:

              lol on the last line.

              Thanks for explain how you entered into Lynn’s payroll..lol

              So you have meet her in PERSON!!?? Very cool! I sounds like you guys enjoyed hanging out 🙂 Maybe some day there could be a reunion of some kind to meet all those who want to meet each other 🙂

      • WindyCityWondering says:

        ITA Lynn sets the table and we do the dishing!

    • OneMoreInBoston says:

      I understand your concern. I was also a little nervous that this site will turn out to be dependent on Bravo stars for it’s content ala Perez Hilton instead of independent and fiesty, the way it has been.

      But Lynn went to an event with Alex and Simon and has been critical of some of their decisions. Lynn also went to an event with Bethenny and still has been honest in her assessment of B.’s new show.

      IMHO, the blog’s integrity is set by the blog “mistress”. If Lynn was desperate and felt that she was backed into a corner and the only way to survive was to squash the truth about the HW or she would get dis-invited from events, well then she would probably just get dis-invited. Her blog would survive.

      After all, it’s survived and actually thrived as a “hate” blog- I don’t think Lynn needs to start investing in extra Chapstick for any ass kissing. She’ll be fine without it.

      • Olivia says:

        Thanks to all of you for taking the time to respond to my question.

        I have always viewed this blog as independent in that each of us here has been able to express likes, dislikes, criticism of those who inhabit these series, as long as we do so with a sense of civility toward one another.

        Lynn and quincy each write in different styles. My concern is that it appears that some of these ladies do follow this blog and may raise objections which may place Lynn in the middle. Wanting to appease both sides could lead to difficulty if they prefer a more “light handed” approach to their behavior both on and offscreen.

        Lynn has her own ideas of where this can lead her and my concern is that a lot of what we say in our commentary may not always be “kind”.

        The “problem” may be more mine than anyone else.

        • quincyil says:

          I think Lynn will probably be Lynn. The rest of us will be free to speak our minds as long as we follow that one rule: “Do not bite your fellow board member or throw her into a mud pit for wrestling.”

          LOL…

        • OneMoreInBoston says:

          I think as Lynn gets more popular, and as her blog grows, there will be growing pains and also some new challenges.

          What you are viewing as a “problem” is in fact a problem not too many other bloggers get to have. We should all have such problems-no?

          One thing I like about this blog is the posters don’t buy just any old bullshit about anyone. We all think for ourselves- you, Olivia, are the epitome of that!

          I think that quality attracts lurkers and followers, it certainly attracted me. Lynn would be crazy to interfere with that independence- and I don’t think she will.

          IMHO, I think Lynn HAS been placed in the middle
          (ie: when Jill pressured her to change the name of the blog) but chose her blog’s integrity every time. So she’s already set the precedent: Blog first.

        • TEB says:

          It’s a fair question to raise and good for you for having the courage to ask. I have found Lynn to be very welcoming of all opinions whether she agrees or not. Even if she were to write a blog that you disagreed with- I don’t think she would mind if you commented to that fact. You may have several people that see your side, too! Thats why this is a good blog.

          • quincyil says:

            I have disagreed with Lynn over Cat O.

            I think after reading Lynn’s opinions for so long, we should all know that Lynn is going to be Lynn.

            • Sha2000 says:

              I like Cat; she for instance maybe more amused by any negative comments than other HW’s maybe. If you are going to be in the public eye, there will be opinions. As long as the opinions are respectful & don’t cross the line of interfering in someones life
              (like if someones spouse is rumored to be cheating before it’s common knowledge), it’s all comments to be expected when ones on tv.

          • Sha2000 says:

            Well said TEB, I agree.

        • klmh says:

          I find it interesting to get others point of view, including the blog mistress. I think I have become more open to others opinions, not only here but in my real life.

          Thanks Lynn and all for expanding my mind!

          • quincyil says:

            It takes time for new people to see that you can agree to disagree. Over time, we all get used to it and you enjoy sharing with people who have different opinions based on their own life experiences.

            • WindyCityWondering says:

              We learn a lot from each other and we see things differently from a variety of perspectives. Plus the respect shown each other is what makes this a community and allows for many ideas to be shared. Lynn gives us an opportunity to do so and to unleash our inner snark goddesses!

              • Nancy says:

                If “Shrill” had 1/2 a brain she’d use this site as a positive in her life! But…we all know Jill.

    • California35 says:

      Good question for thought, but my only concern is actually one I didn’t want to mentioned, but now I am. Is that she is known, she told us before the event and so others will see that…by “others” I mean some of those who are not happy with her.

      I know that she can handle herself. She is a nice and respectful person, so I know she won’t be offending anyone or picking on anyone. I know she is strong, so if someone want to offend her or pick on her, she will be fine. Still, I have my little concern that she will have an uncomfortable situation.

      I am sure she will be fine and this is maybe JUST MY own concern based on MY personality. I wouldn’t want to encounter someone like Jill
      Other than that, I have not other concern….and I am excited for her 🙂

  18. lillybee says:

    Have a good time, Lynn.

  19. Mookies1mom says:

    I don’t remember where I thought that I had read that Richard and his wife had divorced. But apparently not. At least according to the latest report from February that he and his wife announced via twitter the birth of their second daughter. He wrote “Welcome Embry Lotus Blais!” on Feb. 2, 2011.

    • Adgirl says:

      Seriously, I thought they had too. Now I feel bad for even thinking that. Maybe it was when his new burger joint Flip closed after only 6 months. That was probably pretty awful for the whole family.

      • Mookies1mom says:

        I was sad when I first “heard” about it. I swear, for the life of me I don’t know where I read that! I was glad to see that his wife was there on last night’s episode. Poor guy though, they really screwed with him last night. He thought he was going home and I thought so too. He’s kinda quirky, a little cocky sometimes but I like him for some reason. But I really do like Carla and kinda hope she takes the whole thing.

  20. kbinldo says:

    Wow, Lynn! Great work for a “hobby blogger,” huh? 😀 Congrats! Have a great time in NYC!!

    BTW, was I the only one to see the picture of Antonia’s dad & go “Wow, he looks like Mike”?

    • quincyil says:

      Apparently, a number of people in Italy lived in villages and shared genomens over thousands of years. Antonia and Mike look similar to me. They have similar personalities too.

      • OneMoreInBoston says:

        “shared genomens over thousands of years”

        Only you, Q. only you.

        • quincyil says:

          genomes… I was dealing with Buddy, my cat, and he walked on my keyboard.

          He is a barn cat so he wants to have his own twitter and contact other cats online. I have not agreed to his demands yet, but he is threatening a boycott of mousing.

    • HD says:

      I thought he looked like Mike as well.

  21. terry aley says:

    A couple of you mentioned you wanted to read Part 2 of my interview with Chelsea Autumn (from vintage Millionaire Matchmaker), so here’s a link to the story just published to my website.
    http://tinyurl.com/492sgeb

  22. twoile says:

    OT & I hope you won’t mind but Maybe some of you would be interested in supporting the effort to continue govt grants to PBS as it is on the chopping block of budget cuts…..just let your congressional reps know you don’t agree w/the cuts……….I just can’t see the impact being of any significance to the billions spent elsewere……..& think of the quality of both children as well as adult programing. COOKIE MONSTER, Masterpiece theater etc OK Tx :0)

    • Sha2000 says:

      PBS & NPR!!! Already have it on my FB page for a few weeks. What worries me the most is the congress wants to cut funding on NOAA where we get our weather info from.

  23. Sha2000 says:

    Looks like the photos are starting to roll in from the launch party. I had read in the Washington Post that it was to be held at Ted Gibson’s salon in Manhattan, sure enough:

    http://yfrog.com/gyojbphj

  24. boston02127 says:

    Lynn~~ I’m so excited for you! I can-not-wait to read the blog about your trip. Congrats!!!

  25. Adgirl says:

    Hey! DID WE MISS LISA VANDERPUMP DAY?

    Real Housewives of Beverly Hills star Lisa Vanderpump not only owns Beverly Hills hot spot Villa Blanca, she now owns the city!

    RadarOnline.com was present at Lisa’s Villa Blanca restaurant Tuesday night when Beverly Hills mayor Jimmy Delshad declared March 1 “Lisa Vanderpump Day”, and in an exclusive interview, Lisa tells Radaronline.com: “I’m shocked but I couldn’t be happier.”

    “It’s overwhelming to tell you the truth,” Lisa tells us. “I love Beverly Hills and am privileged to live in such an amazing city.”

    Mayor Delshad recognized Lisa for her charitable and philanthropic work and presented her with a written proclamation, a plaque with an engraved key to the city and officially made March 1 Lisa Vanderpump day.

    “Now that it’s my day, you all must wear pink and carry a dog,” Lisa jokingly said as she made a short speech after she’d been honored.

    Lisa, who is referred to as Pinky in the upscale and super rich Beverly Hills social scene, says she can’t be believe she’s being recognized for simply being herself and trying to help others.

    “I’m taken by surprise, really,” Lisa says. “The charity work I do is from the heart and I do them privately. I’m lucky and fortunate I can give back to others. Mayor Delshad left me speechless as he recognized me for something I do from the kindness of my heart. I’m honored and will be forever grateful to the Mayor Delshad and to the city of Beverly Hills.”

    Many of Lisa’s close friends and family were on hand to help celebrate her honor, including RHOBH co-stars Kyle Richards and Taylor Armstrong, and Lisa’s sexy husband Ken Todd and her two children Pandora and Max.

    As RadarOnline.com was first to report, Lisa and Villa Blanca chefs prepare food every Monday and deliver it to a local Beverly Hills church to do their part to help feed the city’s homeless. For the past two years, the restaurant has helped feed the city’s homeless.

    “I’m just one person but I’m happy I can help in a small way,” a humble Lisa says. “It breaks my heart knowing that there are some people out there that are without food and that’s very important to us. Do you realize that there are 40,000 people on the street, every night in Los Angeles? It’s huge and it’s a problem.”

    http://www.radaronline.com/exclusives/2011/03/exclusive-interview-lisa-vanderpump-gets-a-day-her-honor-says-im-shocked-i

    • Cusi77 says:

      Adgirl_ Where is Taylor? Perhaps Kyle’s eyes are now open and chose to take her sister side for a change!

      • Rabble Rouser says:

        I haven’t read anything where Kyle came out and straight up said,
        “Wow, I can’t believe I kept on yelling and blaming and demeaning my sister when it was actually Taylor” ….she’s just pussyfooted around it trying to down play her ‘friendship’ with Taylor like “I really don’t know her all that well, I only knew her through the show”.

        Kyle will never have my respect until she calls Taylor out and admits she was completely wrong to treat her sister the way she did. She has said she was ‘sorry’ and that she regrets the big fight, but that is not the same as saying she was WRONG.

        • Cusi77 says:

          You are so right! Kyle does not deserve any respect until she admits her wrong doings… with Kim, with Camille ( I bet the conversation about the trip to Hawaii was not that far from Camille’s version now that we could see Klyle’s true colors).

  26. lillybee says:

    Did she get the nickname because of all the pink she wears?

  27. Sha2000 says:

    Who’s watching RHOM? Anyone catch that phone in and hang up on wwhl? Whew, they went from 0 to 60 to get to that cat fight. $1ooo prostitution-whore, lol.

    • Rabble Rouser says:

      I think my husband will leave me if I add one more reality show, let alone housewife show to DVR or try to watch it in his presence.

    • JKW says:

      I saw it and the phone call was great. Best part was she said what she wanted and just hung up. Forget any discussion or arguments.

  28. @tweatcyn says:

    Hi Gang! If anyone wants to know what they missed on Criminal Minds: Suspect Behavior last night during the first airing of TopChef Allstars, I just posted my recap here http://tweattwaddle.blogspot.com/2011/03/mallory-is-naughty-little-monkey.html

    Thanks Q for this great post on TCAS. I’m surprised Lynn let you do this one since TC is her baby. ; )

    • lillybee says:

      I am so addicted to that show.

    • Kellita says:

      Great recap!
      I watched it last night, but I was a little bothered by how contrived it all is. I like a show that’s more realistic. And a Nurse Hippocratic oath?? I’m an RN. We don’t take an oath! I hate it when they throw things like that in shows without researching first.

      But I will probably continue to watch, since I’m easily entertained. 🙂

Comments are closed.